Since no one knows a clear answer i bring up this quote from the pojo board:
Originally Posted by Erika
1. Does Simian Warrior Grash count himself?
The Japanese ruling on this card is no, the way that ENG players have generally used it, is yes. There was no official statement either way. KC has decided to go with the JP ruling. Grash does not count itself.
In English, if Simian Warrior Grash did not count itself it would say "other", refer to Alek, Solidity Enforcer. Since Grash doesn't say "other", it does count itself.
Unless anyone brings up a better explanation, i will refer to this quote in my games.
Yet i have another question, in my last game i had two simians in the battle zone and my opponent played blizzard of spears, hence destroying them both simultaneously.
How much mana will get burned?
In my opinion it was 4, he said it would be 2 since they would get destroyed at the same time and thus wont "see" each other and only triggering themselves.
"Whenever one of your Armorloids is destroyed, your opponent chooses a card in his mana zone and puts it into his graveyard." (taken from wiki directly)
So yes it counts itself and as for the case you mentioned now like Blizard Spear then only 2 mana will go in grave bcoz both of them got destroyed at the same time. And yes if you have 2 Simian in battle zone and any of your Armoloid gets destroyed then 2 mana will go to grave.
I hope I helped.
Yes, I agree with Juncombo0 there. If both of them were destroyed by Blizzard Of Spears at the same time, simultaneously, then you get to burn only 2 mana. However, if both of them were to be destroyed separately, exactly one after the other, then you would have burned 3 mana. 2 mana for the 1st Simian, then 1 for the 2nd one which is destroyed.
Erika's answer is basically the correct one. For the Japanese game it's pretty much certain that it doesn't work when it destroys itself.
For the OLD English game format of just 12 sets it did not specify in any additional rulings how to interpret the text but it is true that it does not say "other" and that was very strict in the rules. So if you use the English version card art (which is what we have here) then you must burn mana when Grash itself is destroyed.
This is just a vague memory of mine (so very likely to be wrong) but the Japanese card doesn't say "other" either from what I gather, they just interpret channeling effects in this way.
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum