main page of Trade Cards OnlineTrade Cards Online

The safest place to trade, buy, and sell cards

bulletin boards

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch 
Rules question about the Elixir of Inmortality

 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. You can create a new topic in the same forum if you want.    Trade Cards Online Forum Index -> Magic: The Gathering
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
admin
Avatar for admin
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 274

Subject: Rules question about the Elixir of Inmortality   PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:49 pm Reply with quote

Hi,

I have a question about this card that may be a bit involved but hopefully you guys can clarify it.
The card is Elixir of Inmortality:



The text says: {2}, {Tap}: You gain 5 life. Shuffle Elixir of Immortality and your graveyard into their owner's library.

The problem comes from the distinction between "your graveyard" and "their owner's library"; if your opponent takes control of this card, then "your graveyard" refers to your opponent's graveyard, while the card's owner is still you, so the library would be yours. That would mean that you would have to shuffle your opponent's graveyard into your own library! Imagine the confusion that could cause!

If the text would say "into YOUR library" then there would be no problem, but it clearly makes the distinction to refer to the owner's library instead.

Any ideas or comments?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jwu89
Avatar for jwu89
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 May 2012
Posts: 1

Subject:    PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2014 9:01 am Reply with quote

Not confusing. When your opponent controls it, the elixir would be shuffle into your library (since you own the card). Your opponent's graveyard will be shuffled into his library. The last phrase "their library" is referring to the elixir's owner and the graveyard's owner. If your opponent controls ur elixir and uses it, the "your graveyard" would be referring to his graveyard (he is the controller of the elixir, but you are the owner) so that is why elixir goes back into your library and opponent's graveyard would go back into his library. Make sense? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
admin
Avatar for admin
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 274

Subject:    PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2014 8:58 pm Reply with quote

Thanks for the clarification. It does make sense.
Though I still think that in this case they should use the plural and say "into their owner's librarIES", to make it clear they can be different libraries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. You can create a new topic in the same forum if you want.    Trade Cards Online Forum Index -> Magic: The Gathering All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
[Total forum time spent: 0.0626 seconds]


search for a card | cards you have | cards you want | look for trades
your messages | references | card reviews | dream cards | forums
affiliates | links | advertise with us | help