main page of Trade Cards OnlineTrade Cards Online

The safest place to trade, buy, and sell cards

The Buzz... by shinobi_phoenix

latest comments by shinobi_phoenix
Showing comments on for
Page 2 of 6 Pages: Previous   1  [2]  3  4  5  6   Next
Dragon King - Onaga In the discussion on the Dream Card "Dragon King - Onaga" by mkarmageddon United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
You mean "If this card would be Tribute Summoned by tributing 1 Dragon Type monster on the field, increase the ATK of all Dragon Type monsters by 500."

right?


Also, why it is so strong for an 8 stars without any real negative effect?
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: January 7, 2008 12:53 pm
 
Ultra Force Galactic Golem In the discussion on the Dream Card "Ultra Force Galactic Golem" by magmaneos03_ United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
So you don't think this card is overboard?


It blows up the field (it does, because your opponent is not running Ultra Force) and then you benefit even MORE by pulling more of your own guys out.


All for just putting the card down on the table?
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: January 7, 2008 12:48 pm
 
Zodia Beast - Aquarius In the discussion on the Dream Card "Zodia Beast - Aquarius" by dead_head United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
If that's Aquarius, shouldn't that be a WIND monster, since Aquarius is a Wind Sign.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: December 28, 2007 10:08 pm
 
Sorcerer's Summoning In the discussion on the Dream Card "Sorcerer's Summoning" by master_of_magic Romania
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix

quote from master_of_magic:


quote from shinobi_phoenix:

Problem:

The first line of the card contradicts the last line.


"Cannot be destroyed by card effects" would included this card's own effect of destroying itself. Thus, the first line will have to be changed in order for the card to make sense.


Hey, you're right. I'll change this. Thanks!!


Also, I think the main effect could use some re-wording for clarification.

It would sound clearly to say:

"Once per turn during your Main Phase, select up to 2 monsters in your deck and remove them from play. When 5 monsters have been removed by this card's effect, Special Summon 1 Spellcaster-Type monster from your Deck with ATK equal to or less than the combined ATK of the 5 monsters removed by this card's effect."


Now, while that's clear, you have some technical problems to work out. Which I hope will prompt you to change this card some to make it more effective and cost-effective.


I'll go over it logically.

First off, this card is only for pulling Spellcasters, right?

If you're going with this combined ATK thing, do realize... the strongest Spellcaster in the GAME is only 3500 ATK (Silent Magician Lv. On top of that, she can only be summoned by Level Up or Silent Magician Lv 4 or one of those "ignore Summoning condition" cards. The 2nd strongest Spellcasters is only 3200 ATK (Black Hierophant / Sorceror of Black Magic) and he can only be summoned by his own effect. 3rd Strongest = Testament of the Arcane Lords, 3000 and not even tournament-legal, plus only summoned by her own effect. 4th Strongest = Dark Paladin and Cosmo Queen, both 2900. One is a fusion, so he's already out of range of your card.


My point is... the combined ATK thing is a waste because even if you slapped on "ignore summoning conditions," you would have to remove 5 monsters of only 700 ATK in order to NEED to remove 5 for Silent Magician Lv 8 (3500 / 5 = 700); otherwise, you really only need to remove 2 Gemini Elf 's (1900 x 2 = 3800) to summon any Spellcaster, so the other 3 monsters are utterly wasted. So I think you should drop the removal thing down to only 3 monsters if you stay with this combined ATK thing.

OR... I suggest going it "combined LEVEL of the removed monsters." Then 5 monsters won't be so much of a waste.

If this was my card, it would be typed exactly like this:

"While a Spellcaster monster is on the field, this card cannot be destroyed by card effects. Once per turn during your Main Phase, select up to 2 monsters in your deck and remove them from play. When 3 monsters have been removed by this card's effect, Special Summon 1 Spellcaster-Type monster from your Deck or Graveyard with ATK equal to or less than the combined ATK of the monsters removed by this card's effect (ignore summoning conditions), then send this card to the Graveyard."

Or (level-based version):

"While a Spellcaster monster is on the field, this card cannot be destroyed by card effects. Once per turn during your Main Phase, select up to 2 monsters in your deck and remove them from play. When 3 monsters have been removed by this card's effect, Special Summon 1 Spellcaster-Type monster from your Deck or Graveyard with a Level equal to or less than the combined Levels of the monsters removed by this card's effect (ignore summoning conditions), then send this card to the Graveyard."

Send is not the same as destroy, so it gets around the first line of the card, and I worded it to be part of the summoning effect. Next, I don't normally use "ignore summoning conditions," but since we're only pulling Spellcasters, most of them don't even need it, but there are a few good ones that do (Silent Magician, Black Hierophant and of course, Dark Paladin); and I added Graveyard, because that allows you to pull dead Spellcasters and dead Fusions (like Dark Paladin) who wouldn't be in your deck. Finally, I also said "up to 2" because that gives you options because you can choose 0, 1 or 2, so you can just keep choosing 0 until you're ready to summon the monster you want instead of being forced to removed monster and summon when it's not time.


Myself and a lot of others take this card creation thing seriously and really work on how to make cards that work, and we even playtest them on YVD, so I'm just giving my normal suggestions to someone who looks like he made a card to be actually used.

I hope you appreciate the effort I put toward trying to help you.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: December 28, 2007 12:40 pm
 
Jeeproid In the discussion on the Dream Card "Jeeproid" by magmaneos03_ United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
I think the ATK and DEF really need to be dropped at least 800-1000 points in order for this card to be fair.


Your opponent has to give up at least a 1850 (1800 if in ATK) monster just to get rid of him, you didn't lose anything; and if you attack, you're not really taking much damage for a kamikaze assault.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: December 26, 2007 07:52 pm
 
Sorcerer's Summoning In the discussion on the Dream Card "Sorcerer's Summoning" by master_of_magic Romania
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
Problem:

The first line of the card contradicts the last line.


"Cannot be destroyed by card effects" would included this card's own effect of destroying itself. Thus, the first line will have to be changed in order for the card to make sense.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: December 26, 2007 06:52 pm
 
Cycletra the Electricity Monarch In the discussion on the Dream Card "Cycletra the Electricity Monarch" by dankevdebbob United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
Is there a reason this doesn't fit the Emperor/Monarch system?


Also, why rip off Gaius (the Dark Emperor) just to cheapen his effect?
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: December 26, 2007 06:14 pm
 
Crystal Crush! In the discussion on the Dream Card "Crystal Crush!" by cyber_dragon United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix

quote from foils1:


quote from shinobi_phoenix:

The worse part is, there's already two copies of that overUSED trap. One of them is theme-specific. The unoriginality has to stop somewhere.


This theme-specific version of Saku Armor is really needed in Crystal Beast decks though as they totally blow in general! Not everything must be a totally original unique idea to be considered a dream card that is needed and possibly should even be created. I will most likely refrain from even voting on this card myself simply due to my hatred of Crystal Beasts (as this might bias my vote in this case.), but some of you are being a bit unfair in your criticism of this card and it's creation by this member.


So, because you think they aren't good, the only way to make them better is to throw them CC bait? I guess 6 Saku's wasn't enough, they need 9 to be good. I'm being quite a bit fair, especially if that's your answer (to deem that Crystal Beast are garbage anyway).


For that matter, it's even in his fake flavor text, he's outright copying Saku/D-Counter and throwing in CC bait, that's the problem most of us have. If you're going to claim to be serious, put some serious work into it.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: December 24, 2007 09:52 am
 
constant reinforcements In the discussion on the Dream Card "constant reinforcements" by felorc United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
Your copyright? Mind explaining that one?

You own the legally binding copyright on a card for a game that you definitively don't own the creative or commercial rights to?
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: November 23, 2007 10:38 pm
 
D.D.E. - Different Dimension Explosion In the discussion on the Dream Card "D.D.E. - Different Dimension Explosion" by burnt_candy United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
This isn't a Counter Trap unless it negates something and the negation activation trigger is directly prior to this card in chain.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: November 23, 2007 10:29 pm
 
Lightspeed In the discussion on the Dream Card "Lightspeed" by dark_magician1 India
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
That and there's an important reason Counter Traps get to be the only ones at Speed 3.


Besides, just because you upped the Speed, doesn't mean you can activate Normal Spells whenever you want, especially because they have to be activated legally and the other rules still stand.

Normal Spells can still only be used during your Main Phases. Only thing your card changed what was can be chain to it, which means only Counter Traps can be chained to them and they still beat Spells even with your card. Activation triggers and circumstances still matter.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: November 23, 2007 10:13 pm
 
Hydro Force In the discussion on the Dream Card "Hydro Force" by magmaneos03_ United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
If this is a Counter Trap, it has to have an activation trigger.


You never worded one into it. There's rules to Counter Traps to be followed, the price of being a Speed 3.

You should add "and a WATER monster you control is attacked" to the first line.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: November 20, 2007 07:07 pm
 
Lithneddon In the discussion on the Dream Card "Lithneddon" by magmaneos03_ United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
You mean "only card on YOUR side of the field" right?


I mean you do realize, if this card has to be attacked and destroyed to activate, it's IMPOSSIBLE to be the only monster on the field and still be attacked by a monster, unless you know of a card that makes a monster attack itself.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: November 20, 2007 07:02 pm
 
Ultimate Relinquished In the discussion on the Dream Card "Ultimate Relinquished" by magmaneos03_ United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
One question:


Where on this card is there a part about him equipping a monster? You said he gains the ATK of the equipped monster, but no effect on it equips the monster?
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: November 20, 2007 07:32 am
 
K-9 Robo Blaster In the discussion on the Dream Card "K-9 Robo Blaster" by cybertechfalco United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
Isn't 1550 a little high for a direct attacker, especially for something with that drastic of a self-boosting ATK effect that doesn't even reset itself?
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: November 20, 2007 02:15 am
 
Samurai Slaughter In the discussion on the Dream Card "Samurai Slaughter" by elite United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
Sorry, it's too much.

A smart person could pull that off way too easy. Example: The old card flooding trick with Card of Safe Return, or just remove Samurai from play and use Dimension Fusion or RFTDD.


Also: What's with the flavor text (for that matter, why put flavor text on a Magic/Spell card at all)?

"Individually they are each formidable in their own rights..."

You would put this on a card for a series of cards that only have effects in the presence of another of their kind. A lone Six Samurai (Six WarMaster) is pretty worthless.

All well, I'm all for irony.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: October 25, 2007 02:02 pm
 
Conflict of Interest In the discussion on the Dream Card "Conflict of Interest" by bambam United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
Except that you COULD just select the monster you just STOLE for the card's own effect.


That's the thing about wording, you have to be so specific about what you want or people will get away with murder.


So really, all you did was make a free Change of Heart, since most people would tribute or send the monster to GY for a card effect and not have to pay at all.


I'm saying you'll need to reword your card and I don't mean tack on some words at the end.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: October 25, 2007 01:47 pm
 
Dark World Strike In the discussion on the Dream Card "Dark World Strike" by disgustipated United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
Did you mislabel this as a Counter Trap, because it doesn't fit even any 3 of requirements of a Counter Trap?

There's a reason Counter Traps get to be Speed 3.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: October 24, 2007 11:29 pm
 
lord of destruction In the discussion on the Dream Card "lord of destruction" by rockyman Canada
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
So... why is the ATK "?" (ever-changing variable)? You have to put it as 0 or explain what is affecting the ATK.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: October 24, 2007 10:51 pm
 
Contact Draw In the discussion on the Dream Card "Contact Draw" by magmaneos03_ United States
shinobi_phoenix United States
Avatar for shinobi_phoenix
So you're thinning your deck AND uber-drawing?


That's fair to you?
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: October 6, 2007 12:44 am
 
Page 2 of 6 Pages: Previous   1  [2]  3  4  5  6   Next


search for a card | cards you have | cards you want | look for trades
your messages | references | card reviews | dream cards | forums
affiliates | links | advertise with us | help