main page of Trade Cards OnlineTrade Cards Online

The safest place to trade, buy, and sell cards

The Buzz... by draco_niger

latest comments by draco_niger
Showing comments on for
Gorlash, Bonecrusher In the discussion on the Dream Card "Gorlash, Bonecrusher" by obtuseorangutan United States send message
draco_niger United States
Avatar for draco_niger
This card is very interesting in that it would be a card to use for a control deck as a powerful finisher. One of these abilities even touches on a concept of anti-color that is rarely seen in Magic: the Gathering. However, upon reading the rules text, the way it's formatted is not how it would normally be written on a Magic card. This is how the ability would be written in the Oracle text as of today:

---

First strike, trample

Whenever Gorlash, Bonecrusher attacks, destroy target creature (an opponent/ defending player)* controls.

Gorlash* can't be the target of blue or red spells your opponents control.*

---

*(an opponent/ defending player): Most Magic cards use either of these instead of "your opponent" because the writers note the possibility of games with more than two players, and the writers want to provide a simple explanation for what affects whom. Hands of Binding and Hellrider are each good examples.

*(Gorlash): Using only the name before the comma is practical because there won't be as many words in the text box. Pay close attention to the wording on Emrakul, the Aeons Torn and other, similar cards for more information.

*(can't be the target of blue or red spells your opponents control): This is the way that this specific ability is written on official Magic cards. One example of this would be the rules text of Fiendslayer Paladin.

---

Summary: When making a dream card for a specific type of card game, it is important to pay attention to not only the game and its history, but the the writers' rules of how the text on the card is written. When this piece of advice is taken into account, it can bring the best out of an already well-designed card.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: December 15, 2013 04:44 pm
Modified on December 24, 2013 01:53 pm
 
Thresh, the Chain Warden In the discussion on the Dream Card "Thresh, the Chain Warden" by davethebrave Miembro Premium United States send message
draco_niger United States
Avatar for draco_niger
I'd easily say that this was a Mythic at that cost. I'd play it though if that were real, though.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: November 11, 2013 11:10 am
 
Prophecy of Storms In the discussion on the Dream Card "Prophecy of Storms" by azuriel United States
draco_niger United States
Avatar for draco_niger
@shadowcatx: You don't skip your draw step when you have this enchantment out. It just gives you another card at your upkeep in addition to the card you draw at your draw phase.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: February 6, 2013 06:34 pm
 
The Meta In the discussion on the Dream Card "The Meta" by mrymex Miembro Premium Australia send message
draco_niger United States
Avatar for draco_niger
Honestly, considering Magic cards, the rules text for this card is very unclear. Do you want it to deal damage to multiple creatures with equipment on them, or just one? Some research on the rules of Magic: the Gathering would really help your case, because in Magic, attacks always go directly to the opponent, and the opponent always chooses which of his creatures block the attacking creature. I like the concept that you're trying to convey, though, what with the equipment and all. If you want to see how the rules text on the card would work, ask me, and I'll be glad to try and clarify it for you.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: January 12, 2013 03:18 pm
 
Remove Every Trace In the discussion on the Dream Card "Remove Every Trace" by spellbinder United States
draco_niger United States
Avatar for draco_niger
Looks like you did remove every trace... of the rules text of this spell! What's it do? I'm curious.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: December 12, 2012 11:25 am
 
Nature's Ocean Magic: The Gathering In the discussion on the Deck "Nature's Ocean" by cardstoplay United States send message
draco_niger United States
Avatar for draco_niger
I thought this deck was really powerful, especially late game. Why you have so many cards in your deck, the world may never know. I'd trim down to around 60 cards so that you won't have to scry too much for your more powerful cards.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: December 1, 2012 01:53 pm
 
Karn Liberated Magic: The Gathering In the discussion on the Card Review for "Karn Liberated" by flamekid95 United States
draco_niger United States
Avatar for draco_niger
Unsummon doesn't do anything to remove a planeswalker, because in nature, planeswalkers aren't creatures. I'd use Boomerang or something of the sort though.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: August 6, 2012 11:25 am
 
Hunger for Death Magic: The Gathering In the discussion on the Deck "Hunger for Death" by draco_niger United States send message
draco_niger United States
Avatar for draco_niger
Black-Red all the way! Pllease tell me what you think in the comments here, please and thank you.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: July 21, 2012 04:26 pm
Modified on December 3, 2012 09:00 pm
 
Surveying The Battlefield In the discussion on the Dream Card "Surveying The Battlefield" by auzi United States send message
draco_niger United States
Avatar for draco_niger
"As an additional cost, sacrifice a Human creature and discard a Human creature card from your hand.

Untap all lands you control."


Welcome to Magic: The Gathering. Google "MTG Oracle Text", you might find out what I mean. Otherwise, interesting mechanic, and I hope you learn a lot more about what we do here at Magic.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: June 11, 2012 07:40 pm
Modified on June 11, 2012 07:40 pm
 
Rise of Shadows In the discussion on the Dream Card "Rise of Shadows" by xxxantiv3nomxxx United States
draco_niger United States
Avatar for draco_niger
I thought that this card was a bit overcosted. Otherwise, I like the multitasking that you can use with this card.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: June 11, 2012 07:22 pm
 
Change the Past In the discussion on the Dream Card "Change the Past" by wormple Denmark
draco_niger United States
Avatar for draco_niger
Writing this in the Oracle text would have been a heck of a chore. Well, from what I understand, here goes nothing:

Undo all previous actions from after the beginning of your last turn. (All changes to all players' life totals or planeswalkers' loyalty counters from that point are reverted to what they were before. All spells cast or abilites activated from that point are countered and treated as if they weren't cast or activated at all. All cards sent to the graveyard or exiled from that point are sent back to the battlefield or to your hand depending on where they were at the beginning of your last turn.)

Wow. That was fun. Tell me if I missed anything. I think that would be pretty badass. It would be the most awesome card if it were Uncommon. The only note that I have for you is that the effect is totally a blue mechanic. Just saying. Otherwise, good job for thinking outside the box.
Back to top
Report content icon
Posted: May 25, 2012 11:04 am
Modified on May 25, 2012 11:08 am
 
Page 1 of 1  


search for a card | cards you have | cards you want | look for trades
your messages | references | card reviews | dream cards | forums
affiliates | links | advertise with us | help