Dream Card Gorlash, Bonecrusher
TIP Browse other people's trade binders displaying the images of all the cards they are offering for trade.
Dream Card "Gorlash, Bonecrusher"
|[Modified on January 21, 2014 06:00 pm]|
Current score for this dream card, based on 3 votes:
|Discussion about this Dream Card|
|Add your comments|
Subject: An In-Depth Explanation of Gorlash, Bonecrusher Posted: December 15, 2013 04:44 pm
This card is very interesting in that it would be a card to use for a control deck as a powerful finisher. One of these abilities even touches on a concept of anti-color that is rarely seen in Magic: the Gathering. However, upon reading the rules text, the way it's formatted is not how it would normally be written on a Magic card. This is how the ability would be written in the Oracle text as of today:
First strike, trample
Whenever Gorlash, Bonecrusher attacks, destroy target creature (an opponent/ defending player)* controls.
Gorlash* can't be the target of blue or red spells your opponents control.*
*(an opponent/ defending player): Most Magic cards use either of these instead of "your opponent" because the writers note the possibility of games with more than two players, and the writers want to provide a simple explanation for what affects whom. Hands of Binding and Hellrider are each good examples.
*(Gorlash): Using only the name before the comma is practical because there won't be as many words in the text box. Pay close attention to the wording on Emrakul, the Aeons Torn and other, similar cards for more information.
*(can't be the target of blue or red spells your opponents control): This is the way that this specific ability is written on official Magic cards. One example of this would be the rules text of Fiendslayer Paladin.
Summary: When making a dream card for a specific type of card game, it is important to pay attention to not only the game and its history, but the the writers' rules of how the text on the card is written. When this piece of advice is taken into account, it can bring the best out of an already well-designed card.
|Back to top||Modified on December 24, 2013 01:53 pm|
Subject: Updates to Gorlash, bonecrusher Posted: January 10, 2014 11:18 am
Thanks for the advice! I updated his text, but the picture didn't update :/
|Back to top|
|Add your comments|